Health Worries (Warning TMI)

Now this is not one of my philosophical or funny posts so if you don’t want to be in a bad mood for the day I don’t recommend reading this, however this is something on my mind a lot lately.

First, my mother told me about an uncle she had that died of prostate cancer. He didn’t know anything was wrong until he had lower back pain then it was discovered he had advanced prostate cancer and he died.

Second, I was at Rediscover and saw a paper on the wall about testicular cancer and what it said about younger men being the ones more likely to get it. One of the online sites I saw later said the average age was 33. I just turned 31 and now I’m scared out of my mind because there are several things I’ve read and YouTube videos I’ve watched that say it’s possible for men to have cancer of the prostate or testicles and not even know anything is wrong at all. Because of this I’m planning to have another checkup which I should anyway because it’s been about a year.

I appear healthy and strong and have no trouble with work or dance classes. But even if I feel healthy there could still be something wrong and so I’m gonna talk to my doctor about it when I see her.

But besides being worried, I’m also very angry that I could have cancer in body parts I do not even need. Aside from sexual matters, what use is there to having balls or a prostate? As I’ve said for years, I am asexual and I’m a 31 year old virgin who can think of  at least 5 reasons why I will stay a virgin for life. However now I’m just angry at the presence of these useless body parts as I have been for years except now I’m scared too.

So anyway that’s what I’m going through write now and I thought maybe I would feel better if I got this out of my system by writing about it. This is only important for you to know if you consider me a friend and want to know my troubles or if you also are a man who doesn’t go to a doctor because you feel fine. I think regular checkups are good and I really should do it more often.

 

Leave a comment